June 26th: Let Them Eat Cake!

Highlights

  • Wooh!: Maraqua swept Haunted Woods, in a much anticipated match, even winning Slushie Slinger. This could not be done without the wonderful WAM, way to go guys! This propels MQ into seventh place, and still in the running for first tier. For Haunted Woods, this means first tier is no longer a hope, but hopes are still high for the fifth place spot by the end.
  • KROOdiculous: Kreludor and Roo Island played, but with less clear results. It was WLLW for Roo Island, the winners. Kreludor’s lack of points let Darigan (WWWL against VP) jump ahead to first. The movings of the top three aren’t of concern, chances are these three will not fall below fourth,
  • Malfunction: Darigan defeated Virtupets with a WWWL, pushing them down to eighth place, hanging onto the edge of second tier
  • Unnoticed: Moltara lost to Tyrannia (LLWL) but snuck out a side game win against these Gods of Side Games. Nice job Moltara!
  • Mistaken: Shenkuu overcame Mystery Island by winning the first three games and drawing SoSD. I expected MI to put up a fight, but I guess they’re still charging for their next upset?
  • Clairvoyance: The Meridell/Krawk Island match was also one to watch, considering these two may both be competing for fifth place
  • SNARKIE NO!: With therecent Staff Tournament Results, I am 0/4 because Snarkie did not fulfill my prophecy and Lawyerbot is better than I thought. I’m sure when I pick him the next round, he’ll lose.

Predictions

Maraqua beats Terror Mountain

Mystery Island beats Altador

Meridell closely beats Darigan

Haunted Woods beats Tyrannia (WWLL)

Kreludor beats Krawk Island

Shenkuu beats Kiko Lake

Virtupets beats Faerieland

Lost Desert beats Brightvale

Roo Island beats Moltara

*Yawn* Oh, hey. I’m the official ACV Snow Yooyu. People have called me slow, but that’s just on the field. Outside of the field, I’m a regular at Crisis Courier and Ready To Roll! I’ve also got some of the best insight on matches, being part of them, so I wrote the predictions today. What we can expect after the results tomorrow is no change for the top five, but Meridell will be closer to the bottom thirteen, because we all know that even if they win, it won’t be one that garners lots of points. Maraqua and Virtupets may both pass Krawk Island. KI has KD today, while its opponents have TM and FL. It seems that there’s a gap between HW and SK, so even with SK’s easy match, thy still wont change. Mystery Island is set to get close with BV, but their low SS scores are just too much of an anchor for passing. Anyway, that’s how Yooyu sees it.

You just met Jeffrey the Yooyu, who was the final goal in ACIV. Don’t give up, Yooyuballers!

Rant about being on Lost Desert

As much as I love my team, I must say that I’ve grown to dislike them. What happened to the good old days where we were the team everybody loved, but feared? Instead, I’m finding us  generally loathed by almost every team due to the lack of sportsmanship we were once famous for, our inability to take a loss gracefully, and the constant trolling by our members.

Just yesterday, after the loss to Haunted Woods, I experienced first hand how sore losers my team mates actually are. While at S.A.N.D.Y., my chat group, where I usually post, there were a few “LLLD :(” but usually always followed by a word of encouragement. I lurked over at SoLiD, only to find so many comments like “TNT must’ve miscalculated”, “We might as well give up now,” and just generally butt-hurt. What ever happened to team spirit? Team pride? Before reading these comments, I was a proud Lost Desert member, regardless of my pessimistic nature seen on this blog (can’t be helped), but seeing these people bringing themselves down over a minor setback, blaming others for the loss, brought to me a great deal of shame and embarrassment.

Being on S.A.N.D.Y. myself, I’m used to others blaming me, and my friends for a loss. “You didn’t play hard enough,” if we lose yooyuball, or “You’re the reason why we lose all the sidegames,” if we lose sidegames. Of course, my friends and myself are also guilty of playing the blame game, sometimes blaming a yooyuball loss on too much of a sidegame focus. However, we keep it amongst ourselves, rather than airing it in public. Unfortunately, this has lead to a bad relationship between the two groups, over the course of the years, and I’m not going to lie, a sense that S.A.N.D.Y.’s efforts are unappreciated.

This year, with the addition of SOTAC (Secret Order of the Altador Cup), more turmoil and drama was added to our team. Don’t get me wrong, but I have nothing against individual SOTAC members and their personalities, but as a team, I find them to be extremely elitist overachievers. Filling you all in on a little drama, the leadership (being owner of the petpage) of S.A.N.D.Y. was passed to me after a quarrel when the old ‘leader’ decided it would be a good idea for SOTAC to join (merge being his initial wording) S.A.N.D.Y. for the remainder of the cup so we “would be a more united team” (he actually meant so our board scores would be higher). Myself, and a few other members opposed this, best summed up in “too many chefs spoil the broth”.

Just before the old ‘leader’ left, our board scores miraculously jumped from 30% to 90% in a page, with very little scores posted on the board. A few members called him out, and there was an arguement (over Neomail), and I ended up with the ‘leadership’.

But I digress, Vs Haunted Woods, I decided to have a fun motivation for SoLiD, where I “kidnapped” one of their more prominent members for a ransom of 100,000 Yooyuball goals without the help of Dunas (Portuguese Lost Desert), OASIS (French Lost Desert) or SOTAC, who would all post their scores they acheive for the day at SoLiD towards the end of the day (Somewhat of a pointless idea in my opinion, seeing that it makes some members over confident (forgetting that other teams have foreign players too), or lazy (relying on the foreign counterparts of our team to pick up their slack)). Soon after I post that, I get a neomail saying to tell SoLiD that SOTAC will not be posting their scores at SoLiD anymore unless SoLiD+Dunas+Oasis reach 200,000 goals for the day, which I refused to do. Later, I found out, from my abductee, that that goal had been reduced to 140,000 goals, give or take 10,000. Quite ironic for a group which apparently promotes team unity to threaten to seperate because SoLiD not playing up to their standards. Likewise, what our old leader did to S.A.N.D.Y. (I would also like to say that SOTAC is NOT a Lost Desert group, but a vagrant group of trophy hunters (Roo Island + Shenkuu + Lost Desert + ???? = PROFIT)).

I’m sure things like this happen on the other team too, but being a Lost Deserter, I am more aware of my own drama.

tl;dr –

  • I’m sick of Lost Desert’s poor sportsmanship, when we were once reknowned for it.
  • I feel that as a team, unity-wise, SOTAC are hurting us (and I don’t have any problems with SOTAC members individually, but the mindset of the group).

June 26th: Death by Fish

If there was any hope that Haunted Woods could pull off the impossible and make the finals, it was put to rest yesterday when the Maraquan team they jumped swept them. Maraqua apparently doesn’t take lightly to being pushed into the third tier when they were looking at the finals.

Virtupets was pushed away from the finals a little more when Darigan won everything but SOSD. Virtupets looks like they’ll have to settle with the second tier this year.

Meridell had 4th place taken from them by Roo Island and had to prove they deserve that spot against Krawk Island. It didn’t go exactly to plan. Although Meridell did win yooyuball, that is all they won.

Roo Island went into their game against Kreludor knowing they were barely holding onto a spot in the finals and they knew what they had to do. The Rooligans pulled off an upset by winning yooyuball and SOSD.

Predictions:

Krawk Island vs. Kreludor: Kreludor

Mystery Island vs. Altador: Mystery Island

Meridell vs. Darigan Citadel: Meridell

Maraqua vs. Terror Mountain: Maraqua

Haunted Woods vs. Tyrannia: Haunted Woods

Shenkuu vs. Kiko Lake: Shenkuu

Virtupets vs. Faerieland: Virtupets

Lost Desert vs. Brightvale: Lost Desert

Moltara vs. Roo Island: Roo Island

 Kreludor and Krawk Island will be very interesting. Why should Kreludor win? They seem to do better in second place. They’ve swept Krawk Island the last two times they’ve met. Why should Krawk Island win? They have to.

On paper you might take Darigan over Meridell, but this is a lot like Roo Island vs. Kreludor. Meridell has a whole lot more to play for than the DC. 

Roo Island should get some space between themselves and Meridell and Krawk Island today. The knights and pirates will have to play their hearts out today. :p